Tuesday, September 11, 2018

Ours for a Season by Kim Vogel Sawyer






An Old Order Mennonite couple's vows and beliefs are challenged in this stirring contemporary novel for fans of Cindy Woodsmall or Shelley Shepherd Gray.

Anthony and Marty Hirschler are part of an Old Order Mennonite community in Pine Hill, Indiana. The couple has grown apart since a doctor confirmed they would never have children. Marty longs to escape the tight-knit area where large families are valued, and the opportunity to do so arises when her childhood friend, Brooke Spalding, resurfaces with the wild idea of rebuilding a ghost town into a resort community. Brooke hires Anthony to help with the construction, drawing the Hirschlers away from Indiana and into her plan, and then finds herself diagnosed with cancer. Moral complications with Brooke's vision for a casino as part of the resort and the discovery of a runaway teenager hiding on the property open up a world neither the Hirschlers nor Brooke had considered before. Will they be able to overcome their challenges and differences to help the ones among them hurting the most.


Amazon


Praise

“I always enjoy a story of personal struggles and eventual triumphs. But Ours for a Season takes it up a notch. Kim sensitively weaves in a contemporary social issue that we all need to care more about. Both Marty and Brooke set an inspiring example of true Christian love. Well done, Kim!”
—Melody Carlson, award-winning author of We’ll Meet Again

Ours for a Season swept me away from the first page until the last. Sawyer’s ability to create true-to-life characters shines in this unforgettable tale. Run, do not walk, to your nearest bookstore and buy this book!”
—Kathleen Y’Barbo, best-selling author of The Pirate Bride and Beloved Castaway

“What begins as a seemingly predictable ‘we can’t have a baby’ novel turns into a ripped-from-the-headlines heart-wrenching story. Marty, Anthony, and Brooke came to life, each with his or her own challenges. As they worked to resolve these challenges, I learned along with them…about life, love, and ultimately hope.”
—Roxanne Henke, author of the popular Coming Home to Brewster series

“Kim Vogel Sawyer has a unique ability to connect readers to their own foibles and needs by exploring the hearts of her characters with great insight. I highly recommend this amazing novelist.”








—Hannah Alexander, author of the Hallowed Halls series


Sneak Peek

Read the first chapter of Ours for a Season.


About The Author

KIM VOGEL SAWYER is a highly acclaimed, best-selling author with more than one million books in print, in seven different languages. Her titles have earned numerous accolades including the ACFW Carol Award, the Inspirational Readers' Choice Award, and the Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence. Kim lives in central Kansas with her retired military husband, Don, where she continues to write gentle stories of hope. She enjoys spending time with her three daughters and grandchildren. 

Website

My Review


You might want to have the tissues handy as you read this book, what a journey the author has given us.
There are several subjects that are touched on and they are brought to the forefront by the author, and we are able to put faces on all of these.
We walk in Marty’s shoes as she goes through life without the foremost desire of her heart, a baby, and yet you will see that God has bigger plans for her, and yes, it is hard to accept and move on.
Brook, I felt God put these people in her life, and we soon find out why, and she and Elliot are here for a reason, and oh how blessed we are to get to know them.
Come and enjoy Marty and Anthony’s story and find how touched you are going to be, and when the last page is turned, I still wanted more!

I received this book through the Publisher Waterbrook Press, and was not required to give a positive review.



















No comments:

Post a Comment

Under the Bayou Moon by Valerie Fraser Luesse

  Restless with the familiarity of her Alabama home, Ellie Fields accepts a teaching job in a tiny Louisiana town deep in bayou country. Th...