Tuesday, March 24, 2015

An Amish Spring by Sarah Price

It’s springtime in Lancaster, Pennsylvania and Drusilla Riehl has just turned eighteen. While she’s attended youth gatherings and singings in the past, something feels just a little bit different now. As the eldest child, she has a lot of responsibilities, especially with her aging grandparents living in the smaller house attached to the Riehls’ farmhouse and with Drusilla's mother expecting a baby soon. Follow the story of this young Amish woman as she comes of age in the springtime of her life, balancing her commitment to faith, family, and friends.

The Amish Seasons Series follows the story of Drusilla Riehl as she passes through the seasons of life. The first of a four book series, An Amish Spring introduces readers to the Riehl family and their community, both Amish and Mennonite, and will be sure to delight as you learn more about the Amish religion and culture from Sarah Price, one of the leading bestselling authors of Amish Christian fiction who bases her stories and books on authentic experience growing up Mennonite and living among the Amish.

Now Available....Purchase

About The Author

The Preiss family emigrated from Europe in 1705, settling in Pennsylvania as the area's first wave of Mennonite families. Sarah Price has always respected and honored her ancestors through exploration and research about her family history and their religion. At nineteen, she befriended an Amish family and lived on their farm throughout the years.
As a masterful storyteller, Sarah Price prides herself on presenting an authentic Amish experience for her readers. Many of her stories are based on actual people she has met and her own experiences living among the Amish over the years. Sarah now resides in Morris County, New Jersey with her family.
While she started out as an Indie author, she signed on with Realms, an imprint of Charisma House and Waterfall Press, an imprint of Brilliance Publishing. Her first book, First Impressions: An Amish Adaptation of Pride and Prejudice was released in May 2014.

Get the latest news about Sarah Price on Facebook, Twitter, and sarahpriceauthor.com.

My Review

We begin this book delving into the lives of the Riehl family, and in particular Drusilla. This is an Amish family living in the Lancaster, Pennsylvania area, and we are going to be following this family as they go about their everyday life.
We follow Drusilla as she helps her father with haying, barn chores, and then helping her mother with housework, laundry and baking. We also go with Drusilla while she visits with her cousins and best friends and twins Miriam and Namoi. We go to church services, and gathering and singings, along with barn raisings etc., all part of their life.
Drusilla has just turned eighteen and is the eldest child in her family, along with being the oldest comes a lot responsibility, including helping her very pregnant mother.
A very entertaining read, and I hated it to end, but I know there are more books to come in this series. We also meet Drusilla’s sister Hannah who is ready to sprout her wings; she really gives her mom a hard time, but loved how she pulled back when her dad was near.
Also wait until you meet what is probably a new love interest Caleb, and how she ends up owing him. So sweet!
Don’t miss this great book, and the start of another amazing series by Sarah Price. You won’t be disappointed!

I received this book through the Author, and was not required to give a positive review.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours Presents: Moved to Murder: A Vivien Brandt Mystery by Gianetta Murray

  Moved to Murder: A Vivien Brandt Mystery by Gianetta Murray About Moved to Murder Moved to Murder: A Vivien Brandt Myst...