Tuesday, November 24, 2020

A Murder Between the Pages (Main Street Book Club Mysteries #2) by Amy Lillard

 


Second book in the Main Street Book Club mysteries!

You won't be able to stop turning the pages of this small town mystery, which is: Perfect for Fans of Ellery Adams and Lorna BarrettA riveting book club cozy mysteryFor readers of club mysteries and small-town cozy mysteriesThis murder will have to be solved by the book...

It was only a few months ago that the ladies of Arlo's Friday Night Book Club--Fern, Camille, and Helen--solved the murder of the renowned author, Wally Harrison. So when they select Wally's bestseller, Missing Girl, for their next discussion, Arlo is hopeful it will be the end of their mystery hunt.

But since their recent success as sleuths the crew officially see themselves as a women's mystery club, and they're convinced Missing Girl was inspired by a 50-year-old cold case. It's a case from their own Sugar Springs, Mississippi--the disappearance of Mary Kennedy--and Arlo can do little to stop the book club ladies from investigating.

But what starts out as a fun hunch quickly turns into a very real cold case murder mystery when a young girl is murdered in the exact place the women believe Mary went missing all those years ago. It's clear the two cases are connected--and the mystery book club is determined to find answers. With Arlo's help, they may just be able to crack the case.

Amazon 

 

About The Author

 


'm a wife, mother, and bona fide Southern belle. Published author, expert corn bread maker, and Squirrel Princess.

I live in Tulsa, though I was born in Mississippi. I moved to the Sooner State when I was seventeen and met my soul mate and best friend not long after. I've retained a little of my Mississippi accent though most people think I'm from Texas. (?) Rob and I have been married for over twenty years and have a son--a mom proclaimed prodigy, of course!

I love homemade tacos, nail polish, and romance novels--not necessarily in that order. I'm a big fan of country music, a staunch proponent of saving the Oxford comma, and I'm shamefully obsessed with all things Harry Potter.

I believe that God is love. I guess that's why I adore romances.

I have always been intrigued with the Amish culture, their gentle ways and slower-paced lifestyle. (And I love, love, love the fact that they stay married for their lifetime.) But until recently I never thought to blend this interest with my penchant for romance. Okay, okay, I'm a bit old-fashioned and even enjoy the gender roles that are present in this culture. I love to cook and take care of my family. Yes, that's me June Cleaver with a laptop.

I dislike people trying to convince me to read the Twlight series (I'll get to it or I won't, either way I'm good with it), gratuitous violence, and strawberry ice cream. (I know I'm alone on this last one, and again, I'm good with it.)

Favorite movies--(besides HP) French Kiss, Maid of Honor, A Lot Like Love, Just Married, and Sweet Home Alabama. Oh, and Miss Congeniality, Sabrina (both versions) and a 1940's movie called Dear Ruth. If you haven't seen it, you should! A-dorable. Anything with Doris Day and most all of Marilyn's and Audrey's.

Website  

 

My Review

 

I loved being back with this book club, and of course, Fletcher!
In the first book these lovely ladies solved the murder of Wally Harrison, and now they are at it again. They are convinced they know whom his book is about, and they are going to prove it, but then, another body!
You are going to want to join this Friday Night Book club, they sure are a hoot, and you know what, listen to what they have to say. I would love to hang around with these ladies!
As the book progresses surprising facts are revealed, and keep reading there are bombshells that are dropped right up to the last page.
I received this book through Net Galley and the Publisher Poisoned Pen Press, and was not required to give a positive review.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours Presents: Killer Words (Mystery Bookshop) by V.M. Burns

  Killer Words (Mystery Bookshop) by V.M. Burns About Killer Words Killer Words (Mystery Bookshop) Cozy Mystery...