Monday, October 26, 2020

A Home for Unloved Orphans (The Orphans of Hope House #1) by Rachel Wesson

 



Virginia, 1933: Her heart broke as she took in the scene before her. There were too many orphans and not enough beds. The rags they wore barely covered them and they hadn’t eaten in days. How could anyone let innocent children live like this? She picked up a tiny girl who’d cried as she moved past her cot. “I’ll be back soon, little one.”

Never in a million years did Lauren Greenwood think she would be homeless, destitute and without a penny to her name. But when her father mercilessly disowns her, that is her fate. Out on the streets, America is in the devastating grip of the Great Depression––children run wild in the streets, endless queues for soup kitchens line sidewalks, and desperation hangs in the air.

All alone in the world, Lauren finds an orphanage in the sprawling fields of the Virginia countryside––a safe haven for those who have nowhere to go. But she is appalled to find orphans living in shocking conditions, their hunger keeping them awake and making them too weak to even play. The home for unloved children is on the brink of closure and the helpless innocents may lose the roof over their heads…

Lauren, heartbroken by the rejection of her own father, vows to provide these poor orphans with the love she never received and is determined to save their home from ruin. When she sees an advertisement in the local newspaper, with an anonymous benefactor donating money to families crippled by the Depression, it could be the answer to her prayers.

Can she save these children who have been rejected by the world? Or in a time of so much suffering, is there simply no hope?

A heartbreaking yet hopeful tale about a brave young woman who gives up everything to help unloved children who have nothing. Fans of Before We Were Yours, The Orphan Train and Diney Costeloe will adore this poignant historical novel, which shows that a little bit of kindness can go a long way.

Amazon 

 

About The Author

 


Rachel Wesson is Irish born and bred. Drawn to reading from an early age, she started writing for publication a few years back. When she is not writing, Rachel likes to spend her time reading and playing with her three kids. Living in Dublin there are plenty of things to do, although the cowboys and Indians of her books rarely make an appearance. To chat with Rachel connect with her on Facebook - authorrachelwesson. To check out her newest releases sign up to her mailing list.

 

My Review


This story felt like I was watching a movie, beginning with standing outside of Macey's in NYC, and attending a lavish ball, but there is a side story to the time Lauren Greenwood spent in New York. This young woman has a sweet heart and feels compelled to help the less fortunate.
The next time we see her she has returned to her estate in Virginia, and is thrilled to be back from her tour in Europe. Yes, Lauren seems to have been born with a silver spoon in her mouth, but she is also, thanks to her Nanny/Aunt, a person that would literally give you the shirt off her back.
This is the time of the Great Depression, and although Lauren's life is really unchanged, all around her is poverty.
Now we get to the heart of the story, the children who are either orphans or with parents that cannot take care of them. Watch, or rather read, what our Lauren does when she stumbles upon a rundown, I'll say orphanage, but it was more like a shack.
We also follow her as she appears to fall in love, but will she see her intended true heart before it is too late?
This is a story that will keep you up late reading and page turning, and then it will linger with you! You don't want to miss this one!

I received this book through NetGalley and the Publisher Bookouture, and was not required to give a positive review.  
 

No comments:

Post a Comment

The Rainbow by Carly Schabowski

  here, on the dusty floorboards, was a piece of paper, folded neatly. A newspaper article, written in German, alongside a faded picture of...