Tuesday, April 2, 2019

Verity (The Sugar Baron’s Daughters, #2) by Lisa Tawn Bergren

After leaving England behind for a new life in the West Indies with her sisters, Verity Banning wants something to call her own. Her affinity for animals inspires her to set up a business importing horses, as well as other goods in demand by the island residents. But when she arrives in the Colonies to purchase her goods, unexpected news of Captain Duncan McKintrick awaits her--as does the captain's handsome brother, Ian--whose sympathies lie with the fledgling Patriot cause.

As the great-granddaughter of a British general and friend to many Loyalists, Verity believed all she wanted was a peaceful resolution. But both the Patriots and the impassioned Ian McKintrick are steadily laying claim to her heart. When faced with the decision of what--and for whom--she will fight, can she set her feet on a new path despite the danger that awaits?


About The Author

Lisa Tawn Bergren is the best-selling, award-winning author of more than 40 books, with over 3 million copies sold. Her most recent works includes the YA series Remnants (Season of Wonder, Season of Fire, Season of Glory), the River of Time Series (Waterfall, Cascade, Torrent, Bourne & Tributary, Deluge), God Gave Us Sleep, a devotional called Upside-Down Prayers for Parents and the Grand Tour Series (Glamorous Illusions, Grave Consequences, Glittering Promises), and the River of Time: California duology (Three Wishes and Four Winds). She’s currently finishing up the Sugar Baron’s Daughters Trilogy (Keturah, Verity and Selah).

Lisa’s time is split between managing home base, writing, and working at Rocky Mountain Rustic, a business she runs with her husband, Tim (RMRustic.com). Tim’s a worship leader and sculptor/artisan. They have three kids–Olivia (24), Emma (21) and Jack (16).
The Bergrens make their home in Colorado Springs, Colorado.


My Review

I loved being back on Nevis and with the Banning sister’s and their families, and this book mainly focuses on sister Verity. I would recommend that you read the first book in this series, Keturah, so good!
These are strong women and Verity is now leaving her mark and setting up her own store selling mostly horses and tack, and with the help of Ian McKintrick, brother of Duncan, she has been to NY and the Carolina’s to get her stock.
Now with British soldiers living on their plantation, and the threat of war on the horizon, these women are going to have to make changes.
There is still evil lingering on the island, and we meet the main nemesis again, and yes, I wished him ill will.
I can’t wait for the next book in this series so I can go on with the Banning woman and their loves and trial, and find out how this wraps up!

I received this book through Net Galley and the Publisher Bethany House, and was not required to give a positive review.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours Presents: Deadly Gamble: A World War II Mystery by Kate Parker

  Deadly Gamble: A World War II Mystery by Kate Parker About Deadly Gamble Deadly Gamble: A World War II Mystery Histori...