Saturday, April 20, 2019

Secrets & Wishes by Kathleen Rouser

Stone Creek, Michigan, April, 1901 Maggie Galloway and Thomas Harper clash after their sons collide in a fistfight. Both widowed, they’re each doing their best as single-parents. Outgoing Maggie has dreams for a home of her own and a business to provide for her son as she searches for God’s path for her life as a widow. Reserved Thomas struggles to establish his new pharmacy and take care of his four rambunctious children, while wondering how a loving God could take his beloved wife.

When Thomas becomes deathly ill, Maggie is recruited to nurse him back to health. Taking the children in hand, as well, is more than she bargained for, but she is drawn to help the grieving family. Both nurse and patient find themselves drawn to each other but promptly deny their feelings.

A baking contest sponsored by the Silver Leaf Flour Company brings former beau, Giles Prescott, back into Maggie’s life. When Giles offers Maggie a position at their test kitchen in Chicago, he hints that, along with assuring her a good job, it will allow them to possibly rekindle their relationship.

But then a charlatan comes to town, and tragedy soon follows. Maggie and Thomas discover the miracle potions he hawks aren’t so harmless when an epidemic hits Stone Creek. Thomas and Maggie realize they must work together to save lives.

Maggie finds herself caught up in battles within and without—the battle to help the townsfolk in the midst of illness and chicanery, and the battle to know which man—Thomas or Giles—deserves to win her heart. 


About The Author

Welcome to my website! I’m Kathleen Rouser, the award-winning author of Rumors and Promises, my first novel about the people of fictional Stone Creek, Michigan, and its sequel, Secrets and Wishes.I’m represented by Linda S. Glazof the Hartline Literary Agency.My novella, The Last Memory, part of Barbour’s Great Lakes Lighthouse Brides collection, is available HERE
You’ll still find monthly author interviews and some book reviews in “Let’s Chat” and more devotional articles coming soon in “May I Be Honest?” Also coming soon is a free story, Winter Baby,for those who subscribe to my newsletter—my gift to you.
I’m still a fan of the three Cs—cats, coffee, and chocolate! But most of all I’m thankful to be in the grip of God’s mercy and grace. I’m a child of God, a wife, a mom, a sister, an aunt, and kids’ Bible study leader.
I wanted to be a writer before I could even read!


My Review

First, I loved the cover on this book, and the word pictures as I read, drew me in.
I enjoyed this read, and see individuals here hurting after losing their spouse, and having a hard time moving on. The story takes place in 1901 Michigan, and a different time, prior to drug regulations, and the aftermath of a charlatan.
Another part of this story is a woman who has lost her beloved husband, and a man who has lost his dear wife, and while both are grieving, he is having a hard time coping with his life and taking care of his three children. One could almost laugh when you see what his sons do to his housekeeper, but they are a handful but you will find a chuckle or so.
As I was reading I discovered that there was a previous book, but facts were brought forth and I was not at all lost.
You can see Maggie leaning towards an old boyfriend, but found myself rooting for Thomas, but she is a woman of faith, and you will wonder to the end whom she will end up with.

I received this book through Celebrate Lit, and was not required to give a positive review.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours Presents: Muffalettas and Murder: Small Town Girl Mysteries by Jann Franklin

  Muffalettas and Murder: Small Town Girl Mysteries by Jann Franklin About Muffalettas and Murder Muffalettas and Murder:...