Thursday, September 28, 2017

Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours Presents: The Bell Tolls by R. Franklin James & Review

The Bell Tolls (A Hollis Morgan Mystery) by R. Franklin James


Traditional Mystery 5th in Series Camel Press (June 1, 2017) 
Paperback: 256 pages ISBN-13: 978-1603812177 


Hollis Morgan has survived imprisonment, received a pardon and persevered to finally become a probate attorney. Tough as she is, her newest case will further test her mettle. She discovers her client, Matthias Bell, is a deceased blackmailer whose last wish was to return the damaging documents letting his victims off the hook. It falls to Hollis to give them the good news. But it becomes apparent that Bell was murdered, and the victims of “Bell’s tolls” are now suspects.
Hollis’ white-collar criminal past has left her with keen survival instincts. A gifted liar, she knows a liar when she sees one. A lot of people in this case are lying and one is a killer.
On top of that, she’s also representing a dying stripper, a wealthy widow whose estranged daughter spurns her attempts at reconciliation, but whose husband sees the potential inheritance as mending all wounds.
Clients aside, Hollis is defensive and wary. Her mother, who hasn’t spoken to her for years, needs a kidney, and Hollis is a match, but neither are ready to put away the past. With Hollis’ fiancé and emotional support off on an undercover mission for Homeland Security, she must count on her own survival instincts. She is swept along on an emotional roller coaster as her absent love and her family’s coldness take their own toll.
Work is her salvation. The specter of a killer keeps her focused. Hollis has always had to rely on her wits, but now she finds that others who don’t have her well-being in mind are relying on them as well.

Book 5 in the Hollis Morgan Mystery series, which began with The Fallen Angels Book Club.




About The Author

R. Franklin James grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area and graduated from the University of California at Berkeley. From there she cultivated a different type of writing—legislation and public policy. After serving as Deputy Mayor for the City of Los Angeles, under millionaire Richard Riordan, she went back to her first love—writing, and in 2013 her debut novel, THE FALLEN ANGELS BOOK CLUB was published by Camel Press. Her second book in The Hollis Morgan Mystery Series, STICKS & STONES, was followed by THE RETURN OF THE FALLEN ANGELS BOOK CLUB, and THE TRADE LIST. THE BELL TOLLS, book five was released in June 2017. R. Franklin James lives in Northern California with her husband.  

Author Links
Goodreads: Twitter: @RFJBooks  

Purchase Links Amazon B&N kobo

 Books in This Series


Tour Participants
September 20 – Varietats2010 – REVIEW, GIVEAWAY   
September 20 – Books,Dreams,Life – SPOTLIGHT  
September 21 – Celticlady's Reviews – SPOTLIGHT  
September 21 – Cozy Up With Kathy – INTERVIEW  
September 22 – Island Confidential – INTERVIEW  
September 23 – 3 Partners in Shopping, Nana, Mommy, &, Sissy, Too! - REVIEW, GIVEAWAY
September 23 – A Holland Reads – GUEST POST  
September 24 – The Editing Pen – GUEST POST  
September 25 – A Blue Million Books – INTERVIEW  
September 26 – The Pulp and Mystery Shelf – INTERVIEW
September 27 – Brooke Blogs – GUEST POST, GIVEAWAY  
September 28 – Maureen's Musings – REVIEW  
September 29 – StoreyBook Reviews – GUEST POST  

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host? Click Here Find Details and Sign Up Today!

My Review

 This book continued to pull me in right up to the very last sentence, and now I need to read the next book in this series.
Yes a little bit of everything here for you, with blackmail, murder, romance, relationships, and when you wonder what one part of the book has to do with the other, they meld.
The author has us walking in the shoes of a young woman who has literally pulled herself up by the bootstraps, and yet whenever she falls down, she gets up and brushes herself off and continues.
From her rocky relationship with her family, to the love of her life, to her job as a lawyer, we continue on with her, she is one remarkable person. A murder mystery that is really going to make you think and boy was I surprised at the ending.
I received this book through Great Escapes Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.



  1. Great Review! Thank you for being part of this tour.

  2. Maureen, thank you for the great review. Hollis' path back to self-respect and a second chance starts with book one: The Fallen Angels Book Club. Book six in the series: The Identity Thief will be released in June 2018.


Celebrate Lit Presents: Trail of Promises Author: Susan F. Craft

  About the Book Book:  Trail of Promises Author:  Susan F. Craft Genre:  Christian Historical Romance Release date: June 2...