Thursday, June 2, 2022

Read With Audra Presents: The Songs That Could Have Been by Amanda Wen

 


 

 

About the Book

 

 

 

Two couples in love. Two sets of impossible circumstances. One powerful God of grace.

After a tailspin in her late teens, Lauren Anderson's life is finally back on track. Her battle with bulimia is under control, her career is taking off, and she's surrounded by a loving family. Then a chance meeting with Carter Douglas, her first love and the man who broke her heart, leads to old feelings returning with new strength. And suddenly her well-balanced world is thrown off kilter.

Now a TV meteorologist, Carter is determined to make amends with Lauren. After all, she still owns his heart. But the reasons they broke up aren't lost--and those old demons are forcing him toward the same decision he faced in the past. He isn't sure he's courageous enough to make a different choice this time around.

When Lauren's elderly grandmother, Rosie, begins having nightmares about a man named Ephraim--a name her family has never heard before--a fascinating and forbidden past love comes to light. As Lauren and Carter work to uncover the untold stories of Rosie's past in 1950s Wichita, they embark on a journey of forgiveness and second chances that will change their lives--and Rosie's--forever. Along the way they'll learn that God wastes nothing, his timing is perfect, and nothing is beyond his grace and redemption.

The Songs That Could Have Been is full of the same deftly handled, resonant writing that readers and critics alike enjoyed in Amanda Wen's first book in the series. Fans of Lisa Wingate and Rachel Hauck will add Amanda Wen to their must-read shelves.

About the Author

Amanda Wen is an award-winning writer of inspirational romance and split-time women’s fiction. She has placed first in multiple writing contests, including the 2017 Indiana Golden Opportunity, the 2017 Phoenix Rattler, and the 2016 ACFW First Impressions contests. She was also a 2018 ACFW Genesis Contest finalist.
 
Wen is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) and regularly contributes author interviews for their Fiction Finder feature. She also frequently interviews authors for her blog and is a contributor to the God Is Love blog. She is the author of Roots of Wood and Stone and The Songs That Could Have Been.
 
In addition to her writing, Wen is an accomplished professional cellist and pianist who frequently performs with orchestras, chamber groups, and her church’s worship team. She serves as a choral accompanist as well. A lifelong denizen of the flatlands, Wen lives in Kansas with her patient, loving, and hilarious husband, their three adorable Wenlets, and a snuggly Siamese cat.
 
To find Amanda Wen’s blog and short stories, visit www.amandawen.com. Readers can also follower her on Facebook (@AuthorAmandaWen), Twitter (@AuthorAmandaWen), and Instagram (@authoramandawen)

 

My Review


A story that will touch your heart, and when finished stays with you.

What a wonderful job the author has done in dealing with very tough subjects. The author gives us siblings that love their Grandmother, she is dealing with the dreaded alzheimer's disease. When she drops a name from the past, we are looking for this elusive person, is he even still alive?

Enter a lost love from granddaughter Lauren's past, and we have doors opening for both her and her Grandmother, but will Lauren's heart be able to withstand spending time with Carter Douglas?

This is a read that really touches on very tough subjects, and dealing with your own demons, and be sure to read the author's notes at the end with her person touch on this story.

A story to get lost in, with sweet romance, and the ugly head of prejudice, along with struggles of a personal nature that need to be fought every day! In the end I never wanted to leave the lives of these people I now cared about!

I received this book though the Publisher Kregel, and was not required to give a positive review. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Celebrate Lit Presents: Heaven-Sent Miracle & Rescues Author: Andrea Jo Rodgers

  About the Book Book:  Heaven-Sent Miracle & Rescues Author:  Andrea Jo Rodgers Genre: Christian Inspirational Release ...