Tuesday, July 22, 2014

When I Fall in Love (Christiansen Family, #3) by Susan May Warren

A Christiansen Family Novel | When I Fall in Love

Hawaii was the last place Grace Christiansen ever imagined she’d vacation, much less fall in love. But when her family surprises her with a cooking retreat in paradise, she is pulled—or maybe yanked—away from her predictable, safe life and thrown headfirst into the adventure of a lifetime.
Max Sharpe may make his living on the ice as a pro hockey player, but he feels most at home in the kitchen. Which is why he lives for the three-week culinary vacation he takes each year in Hawaii. Upon being paired with Grace for a cooking competition, Max finds himself drawn to her passion, confidence, and perseverance. But just when Grace dares to dream of a future beyond her hometown, Max pulls away.
Wrestling with personal demons, Max fights against opening his heart to a love he knows he should never hope for. And as his secrets unfold, Grace is torn between the safe path in front of her and what her heart truly desires. If love means sacrificing her ideal happily ever after, Grace’s faith will face its toughest test yet.

Learn more and and purchase a copy at Susan’s website.

About The Author

Susan May Warren is the bestselling, RITA Award–winning author of more than forty novels whose compelling plots and unforgettable characters have won acclaim with readers and reviewers alike. She served with her husband and four children as a missionary in Russia for eight years before she and her family returned home to the States. She now writes full-time as her husband runs a lodge on Lake Superior in northern Minnesota, where many of her books are set. She and her family enjoy hiking, canoeing, and being involved in their local church. Several of her critically acclaimed novels have been ECPA and CBA bestsellers, were chosen as Top Picks by Romantic Times, and have won the RWA's Inspirational Reader's Choice contest and the American Christian Fiction Writers Book of the Year award. Five of her books have been Christy Award finalists. In addition to her writing, Susan loves to teach and speak at women's events about God's amazing grace in our lives. She also runs a writing community for authors. Visit MyBookTherapy.com to learn more. For exciting updates on her new releases, previous books, and more, visit her website at www.susanmaywarren.com

My Review:

When I Fall In Love is a wonderful read, and an enjoyable return visit with the Christenson family. Of course, there are family conflicts, and Owen; the bad boy is still having a hard time. If you remember from the last book he was badly injured in a hockey brawl. He still has that chip on his shoulder, if you haven’t read the previous two books in this series, I heartily recommend that you do, but information is given to get you up to date to read this one alone.
As the book opens Darek and Ivy have just begun their lives together, and we are planning the wedding [from the second book] of Eden and Jace. Grace, another sister, has just put on the reception for Derek and Ivy and the family has gifted her with a trip to Hawaii, nice gift!
We also have a sort of set up with Max Sharpe, another hockey player, he happens to be going to a three week, also in Hawaii, getaway of cooking, his other passion. He has so many daemons and I couldn’t blame him, but living his faith, he needs to lean on God. God doesn’t give us any guarantees and life is very fragile and can be gone in a moment, one never knows, thank goodness.
Is there a possible romance here? You can see the passion, and enjoy you time on the big Island, and then back to Minnesota. This is another page turning read by Ms. Warren, it deals with some very tough issues, and there are more than one. I personally cannot wait for the next book in this series!

I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Cottage by the Sea by Debbie Macomber

After tragedy strikes, Annie moves in to the summer cottage where her family vacationed when she was a child. Soon Annie finds hers...