Pages

Tuesday, October 4, 2016

The Queen's Accomplice (Maggie Hope Mystery, #6) by Susan Elia MacNeal



Spy and code-breaker extraordinaire Maggie Hope returns to war-weary London, where she is thrust into the dangerous hunt for a monster, as the" New York Times" bestselling mystery series for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry continues.
England, 1942. The Nazis relentless Blitz may have paused, but London s nightly blackouts continue. Now, under the cover of darkness, a madman is brutally killing and mutilating young women in eerie and exact re-creations of Jack the Ripper s crimes. What s more, he s targeting women who are reporting for duty to be Winston Churchill s spies and saboteurs abroad. The officers at MI-5 quickly realize they need the help of special agent Maggie Hope to find the killer dubbed the Blackout Beast. A trap is set. But once the murderer has his sights on Maggie, not even Buckingham Palace can protect the resourceful spy from her fate.



About The Author






New York Times-bestselling author Susan Elia MacNeal is the author of the Maggie Hope Mystery series from Bantam/Random House. She is the winner of the Barry Award, and her books have been nominated for the Edgar, Macavity, and Dilys Awards.

The first novel in the series is Mr. Churchill's Secretary. It won the Barry Award and was nominated for the Mystery Writers of America's Edgar Award for Best First Novel and the Mystery Readers International's Macavity Award for Best First Mystery Novel. It was also nominated for the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association's 2013 Dilys Award for "the mystery title of the year that booksellers have most enjoyed hand-selling," Mr. Churchill's Secretary was also declared one of Suspense Magazine's Best Debut of 2012, Deadly Pleasures's Best Paperback Original of 2012, and chosen as one of Target's "Emerging Authors" series.  


 


My Review



We are back with our Maggie Hope, and in war torn London, and a modern day Jack the Ripper is imitating the original Jack’s crimes, only this time he is focusing in on women who work at the SOE, and making it personal for Maggie. Worse she knows some of these woman, and goes to work helping Scotland Yard, and trying to bring the man dubbed the “Blackout Beast” to justice, will she survive.
Maggie is reunited with the princesses and has tea and dinner with the Queen at Buckingham Palace, and we wish we were there to dine. The Queen is still in Maggie’s debt and gives her a card to be able to get to her immediately if need be.
We are also with Maggie’s half sister Elise Hess who is being held as a prisoner in Ravensbruck Concentration Camp, and we wonder if she will survive such horrible happens, and will she and Maggie ever have their reunion.
Once the first page was turned I was hooked again and back in Maggie’s world, don’t miss this next addition in this series, you won’t be disappointed.
I received this book through Net Galley and Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine, and was not required to give a positive review.  

No comments:

Post a Comment