Saturday, January 18, 2014

The Headmistress of Rosemere (Whispers on the Moors #2) by Sarah E. Ladd

Patience Creighton will finally find the peace she lost years ago--if she can open her heart and forgive the man who loves her.

Bright, sensible Patience knows what is expected of her. At twenty-five, her opportunity for a family of her own has passed, so she finds contentment teaching at her father's school for girls. When her father dies suddenly and her brother moves away to London, she is determined to keep her father's dream alive.

Confirmed bachelor William Sterling also knows what is expected of him, but mistake after mistake has left him teetering on ruin's edge. As master of Eastmore Hall he owns a great deal of land but possesses little money to manage the upkeep. He is desperate to find a new source of income, including the sacrifice of land connected to Rosemere.

When her brother returns with a new wife to take over management of the school, Patience is heartbroken to no longer be responsible for her beloved school and is forced to reassess God's purpose for her life. After her sister-in-law's matchmaking brings Patience and William together, they both learn new truths about their character and find a common goal in restoring Eastmore's legacy.


About the author: 

Sarah E. Ladd has more than ten years of marketing experience. She is a graduate of Ball State University and holds degrees in public relations and marketing. The Heiress of Winterwood was the recipient of the 2011 Genesis Award for historical romance. Sarah lives in Indiana with her amazing husband, sweet daughter, and spunky Golden Retriever.

Learn more about Sarah at:


My Review:

I really enjoyed reading this book, and wanted more at the end. Having read the first book, I knew of Williams problems. William has been living a descending life toward Hell. We now find him having to start paying for his sins, and wonder if he will still be alive by the end of the book?
A tenant on Williams property is The Rosemere School, and since the death of her father, Patience has been Headmistress of the school. She has been trying to find her brother Rawdon, my opinion of him was not good, but there I go again judging. We find out why he doesn't write or let them know where he is for six months??
We walk the moors and ride around this beautiful countryside. Its sounds so perfect there, but there is a big difference in Patience a working woman...and old maid at 25, and William the aristocrat.
When her brother returns, and basically has Patience retired, he also brings along a rejected, by Patience, beau. Wow! Talk about matchmaking.
You will love spending time with the precocious children, especially Emma.
There are a lot of unknowns here, and a few that are revealed slowly. Once you pick this book, you won't be able to put it back down.
I cannot wait until the next book in this series is here, wonder who the heroine will be??

I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review. 

1 comment:

  1. I was drawn in by the awesome cover! Love it! I haven't read the first book in the series, but I am definitely interested in it after reading your review. Sounds like a series I will enjoy! Thanks for sharing!


A Daring Venture (Empire State #2) by Elizabeth Camden

As a biochemist in early 1900s New York, Doctor Rosalind Werner has dedicated her life to the crusade against water-borne diseases...