Pages

Tuesday, December 27, 2016

Titus Returns (Wells Landing #5) by Amy Lillard




In Wells Landing, Oklahoma s warm and welcoming Amish community, there s always hope for a new beginning and a second chance "
Five tumultuous years have changed Titus Lambert in every way. Back then, Titus was preparing to marry his longtime sweetheart, Mandy Yoder. Then came the unthinkable a tragic car wreck that left Titus serving time for vehicular manslaughter.
Titus isn t sure he belongs in this peaceful place anymore, but he must make amends. When he goes to visit the Kings, whose son, Alvin, died that terrible night, he s shocked to see that their farm has fallen into disrepair. Alvin s sister, Abbie, resents Titus s reappearance, but there s no denying she needs his help. Honest toil and their evolving friendship slowly help his soul to heal. But with his feelings for Mandy still strong, Titus must choose between two very different futures, and find the strength and faith to claim the surprising gift of a fresh start.

Praise for Amy Lillard
An inspirational story of romance, faith, and trust will appeal to fans of Wanda Brunstetter and Beverly Lewis.


Amazon


About The Author






I'm a wife, mother, and bona fide Southern belle. Published author, expert corn bread maker, and Squirrel Princess.

I live in Tulsa, though I was born in Mississippi. I moved to the Sooner State when I was seventeen and met my soul mate and best friend not long after. I've retained a little of my Mississippi accent though most people think I'm from Texas. (?) Rob and I have been married for over twenty years and have a son--a mom proclaimed prodigy, of course!

I love homemade tacos, nail polish, and romance novels--not necessarily in that order. I'm a big fan of country music, a staunch proponent of saving the Oxford comma, and I'm shamefully obsessed with all things Harry Potter.

I believe that God is love. I guess that's why I adore romances.

I have always been intrigued with the Amish culture, their gentle ways and slower-paced lifestyle. (And I love, love, love the fact that they stay married for their lifetime.) But until recently I never thought to blend this interest with my penchant for romance. Okay, okay, I'm a bit old-fashioned and even enjoy the gender roles that are present in this culture. I love to cook and take care of my family. Yes, that's me June Cleaver with a laptop.


Website  



My Review




As you see by reading about this book, Titus has returned from jail, still full of guilt, and feeling that he has wronged everyone in his community. He decides to put his guilt to a purpose he takes it upon himself to help the Kings, Alvin had been his best friend, and his twin Abbie has not been able to forgive.
We see the consequences of others actions here, and what a reminder, and unfortunately the domino effect of how so many lives are touched. Now he has to face his demons and ask his Amish Community for forgiveness, part of their faith, easy to say, but hard to do.
Just when I felt the book was wrapped up, wow, a whole new set of problems show up, and this time, I felt that maybe the real catalyst for his leaving has presented itself.
This book is really going to make you think, and is very unusual as you we don’t hear of Amish in prison, and the mind pictures of that is hard for me to conjure. This book is going to make you think, enjoy!
I received this book through Net Galley and Kensington Publishing, and was not required to give a positive review. 

No comments:

Post a Comment